How to delete a vehicle

If you recently got a new car, you should add a new vehicle and archive the old vehicle instead of deleting the old one. That way you can start fresh but won't lose your old logbook. 

Please note

If you want to delete the vehicle, you will need to archive the vehicle first. You can’t delete a vehicle without first clearing its trip history. Please note that deleting a vehicle is irreversible.

To archive your old vehicle, please check out our guides: 

In this article

Deleting a vehicle in the Driversnote app

  1. Go toA mechanical gear iconSettings in the app menu
  2. Tap Vehicles
  3. Select Archived
  4. Select the vehicle you wish to delete
  5. Tap Permanently delete vehicle

Deleting a vehicle with dependent trips (app)

Before you can delete an archived vehicle, you need to remove all of its dependent trips. There are two ways to do this: delete them, or transfer them to another vehicle. You will need to restore the vehicle again in order to delete or transfer the trips.

  1. Go to Vehicles under Settings
  2. Select Archived
  3. Select the vehicle you wish to delete and restore it first
  4. Go to Trips in the app menu
  5. Make sure you are viewing the correct vehicle. Use the vehicle dropdown in the top right corner to switch vehicle.
  6. Tap on a trip to edit
  7. Delete the trip or transfer it to another vehicle by changing the 'vehicle' field
  8. Do the same for any other dependent trips
  9. Remember to check previous months as well - Tap the dropdown in the top left to view other months
  10. Now you can go back and archive the vehicle and then delete the vehicle (see above: Basic delete)

Deleting a vehicle on the Driversnote website

  1. Log in at driversnote.com
  2. Click on Vehicles under the Settings menu
  3. Go to Archived vehicles
  4. The click on the vehicle you'd like to delete 
  5. Click Delete

Deleting a vehicle with dependent trips (web)

Before you can delete an archived vehicle, you need to remove all of its dependent trips. There are two ways to do this: delete them, or transfer them to another vehicle. You will need to restore the vehicle again in order to delete or transfer the trips.

Keep in mind that transferring the trips to another vehicle, it's only possible to be done in the app (see above). 

  1. Log in at driversnote.com
  2. Click on Vehicles under the Settings menu 
  3. Go to Archived vehicles
  4. Then click on the vehicle you'd like to restore
  5. Click Restore
  6. Click on a trip to edit 
  7. Click Delete
  8. Rinse and repeat - Remember to check all the months 
  9. Now you can go back and archive the vehicle again and then delete the vehicle (see above: Basic delete)
Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us