How to add your working hours

Save time reviewing your auto-tracked trips by setting up your “work hours”. This feature lets you categorize new trips based on departure time as either business or personal/private.

In this article

Adding your work hours to the Driversnote app

  1. Go to Settings in the app menu
  2. Tap Auto-tracking
  3. Under Trip classification, tap Based on work hours
  4. Tap Edit work hours
  5. Use the sliders to select the work hours for each day of the week. You can switch off the days you do not work.
  6. Within Your work hours, tap Settings
  7. Select how you want to classify trips within and outside work hours
  8. If you want trips tracked outside of your work hours, enable Auto-tracking outside work hours 

Please Note

Switching off tracking outside of work hours might result in a non-compliant logbook. Consult your local tax professional about the logbook requirements for your specific situation to ensure compliance with your tax authority

Tip

If you want all your trips to be classified as Personal / Private (for example), regardless of the day or time, change both of the defaults to Personal/Private.


Additional auto-tracking settings

There are a few other features to make auto-tracking even simpler. By customizing the options below, it will make reviewing your trips easier and faster.

Trip Classification: Alternative to work hours, you can select how to classify trips in the following 3 ways:

  • Based on previous trip
  • Always as business
  • Always as personal

To enable one of these, open the app > go to Settings > Auto-tracking > Trip classification

Vehicle Classification: This is only necessary when you have more than one vehicle and are using auto-tracking through ‘Motion’ detection. You have 2 ways to choose from:

  • Based on previous trip
  • Vehicle 1
  • Vehicle 2

This will be the standard-setting. However, you can always change and review the trips and assign them to another vehicle afterwards.

To enable one of these, open the app > go to Settings > Auto-tracking > Vehicle 

Workplace Classification: This is only necessary when you have more than one workplace. If you have a preferred workplace or one that you track more trips with, we would suggest choosing this one. You will then have fewer trips to review and change. You can choose from the following

  • Based on previous trip
  • Workplace 1
  • Workplace 2

This will be the standard-setting. However, you can always change and review the trips and assign them to another workplace afterward.  

To enable one of these, open the app > Settings > Auto-tracking > Workplace


Common Questions

Q: If I edit my work hours will it change all my previous trips?

Nope. The changes are implemented the moment you set them. They will not change previous tracked trips.

Q:I tracked a trip during my work hours, but it was personal/private?

You can always edit the trip type afterwards. Go into your trip inbox, find the trip and change it from business to personal/private.

Q: Can I set work hours for manually tracked trips?

At the moment this is not possible. “Work hours” settings are only available for auto-tracked trips.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us