How to upgrade to the Basic Subscription

If you’re tracking more trips than allowed on the free Lite version, you may want to upgrade to our Basic plan so you can be sure to get your full reimbursement. The Basic plan enables you to track and report unlimited trips. You’ll also be able to access all past trips and create reports for them.

We offer both monthly and yearly subscriptions, and if you purchase a yearly subscription we’ll even send you a free iBeacon so you can track automatically on a specific vehicle.

In this article:

How much does it cost to upgrade?

To see the subscription price in your local currency, log in to Your Account and go to our pricing page to choose the plan that best suits your needs. 

There is no minimum term for a monthly subscription, and you can cancel at any time. The yearly subscription is for a fixed yearly term, but can be cancelled to end after that year at any time.


These countries can pay in their own local currency:

  • Denmark
  • Canada
  • Sweden 
  • Great Britain 
  • Australia 
  • United States 
  • Norway

 If you are in any other country, you will be charged in Euros.


How do I upgrade?

  1. Sign in on our website and go to Your subscription.
  2. The first page displayed will show the monthly price of the subscription (the annual price is displayed when you reach Step 2 of 3 of the upgrade process)

  3. Click Upgrade and you’ll then be directed to choose a plan and payment option where you can choose between monthly and yearly subscriptions. 
  4. Select how many iBeacons you want to purchase (select 0 if you do not want one). If you are selecting a yearly subscription, make sure this is left at 1 minimum, otherwise, no order for an iBeacon will be created.
  5. Enter your payment information and you’re all set!

How do I upgrade a Team?

If you have a team and would like to purchase a plan for your team members, please check out our guide Getting started with Teams or Purchase and assign licenses to your team. You’ll be able to set up centralized billing from one account. 

Did you already purchase a license? There are 2 ways to assign a license as included in the orange boxes:


What is the iBeacon?

An iBeacon is a small Bluetooth Low-Energy device that transmits a signal the phone can detect. You put the iBeacon anywhere in your vehicle, which makes it possible for the app to automatically start and stop when you enter and exit your vehicle. However, it will only start if you move while being near the iBeacon. In other words; it won't start if you just pass by your car on your way out for a walk.

The actual tracking still takes place in the app using the phone's GPS, as the iBeacon isn't a tracker and doesn't have an inbuilt GPS.  

You can read more about the iBeacon here: What is the iBeacon


How to Change Payment Card?

  1. On the website, click on Your Account 
  2. Click on Your Subscription and click on the Payment Card tab
  3. Enter the relevant card information asked and click ‘Save’

If you change your payment method, moving forwards all billing will occur on that card. If a payment is to be refunded and it was a payment that was made on a previous card, the payment will go through that card but still appear in the linked account.


How to Get Invoices

Once you upgrade your account, all your invoices can be found on your account. 

You can retrieve your invoices from your subscription page. To find your invoices you would need to:

  1. Go to Your Subscription after clicking on Your Account
  2. Under the Invoices tab, you’ll see a list of all your invoices available for download

How to Cancel Your Subscription 

You can cancel your subscription by logging in to your account on the Driversnote website and following these steps: 

  1. Go to Your Subscription after clicking on Your Account
  2. Under the Overview tab, at the bottom in red, click on Cancel Subscription 

A window will ask you if you confirm this change and that you may lose access to creating reports over the limit. Click on “Yes, cancel my subscription”


The monthly subscription can be cancelled at any time and will be closed at the end of your current month. The yearly subscription can be set to end at the close of your billing year. You can find your billing date in your My Subscription overview page.


Common Questions?

Q: Do I need to purchase an iBeacon?

Nope! The purpose of the iBeacon is for automatic tracking of trips to a specific vehicle. You can read more here
Q: I have more than one vehicle? How many subscriptions do I need?
You will need one subscription per person. If you want to have auto-tracking on both vehicles, you can purchase an additional iBeacon.  
Q: I paid, why my account is not upgraded / why do I still see the trip limit
It is possible that you have upgraded on the wrong account/email address. If this is the case, please email our support team and we will help get it moved over. 
If you have created a team (even with just one member), you might need to assign the subscription. You will need to go to www.driversnote.com/teams, click on Actions and assign yourself the Basic license. 
Q: What payment methods do you offer?
We accept all major payment cards and support transactions in a range of currencies.
Q: My card is not supported. What do I do?
We only accept credit cards (or visa debit and mastercard debit) at the moment. If you are using a credit card, and it is being denied, please reach out to us so we can look into this and help out. 
Q: I am using a credit card, but the payment is not going through?
There are several reasons a payment can be denied. Our best advice is to contact us if this happens and we will look into it right away.

Still have questions? 

If you’re unsure about anything, feel free to contact us. One of our awesome support team members will try to respond within 1 working day.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us